gavel with law bookThis is the next post in my series on common issues which arise during Illinois misdemeanor cases. My last article discussed defending against Class “B” misdemeanor charges. It is important to understand that while such offenses may not be as serious as a felony, they still carry the potential for jail time and fines. Also, the defendant may be forced to bear a permanent criminal record. This can disqualify someone from housing, employment, and other opportunities. Retaining an experienced criminal defense attorney is important to ensuring that your interests remain protected. In this article I will discuss the possibility of dealing with Class “C” charges. If you are in need of assistance, then contact my office today to speak with a Peoria lawyer.

Illinois Class “C” misdemeanors can result in thirty days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,500

Class “C” charges carry the lowest possible penalty of any Illinois misdemeanor. These penalties can include a jail sentence of up to thirty days as well as a fine of up to $1,500. The Court is not required to impose a jail sentence upon a defendant. Instead, the Court has the discretion to impose probation of up to two years. When probation is imposed, the Court will issue a sentence but stay the sentence pending the successful completion of supervision. At the end of the defendant’s probation, the matter will be concluded. If the defendant violates supervision, then he or she will be required to serve the full sentence.

The foregoing is best explained by way of example. Suppose a defendant is convicted of simple assault or disorderly conduct, either of which would constitute a Class C misdemeanor. The Judge issues a sentence of thirty days but grants the defendant a one-year probation period. During this time, the defendant must stay out of trouble and comply with any other requirements which the Court may impose. If the defendant completes these requirements, then the case will be closed and the time until which the individual may seal their record will begin to run. If, however, the defendant violates the terms of their supervision then the Court may require them to serve the thirty-day sentence. Moreover, if the violation of supervision involved the commission of a new crime, then the defendant may serve time for the new charge as well. How the Court is going to deal with any given situation will always depend on the specific facts of the case. It is, therefore, important that you retain an attorney to assist you.

A Peoria lawyer can assist you in dealing with Illinois misdemeanor charges

If the state of Illinois has charged you with a misdemeanor then you have options. If you are charged with a low-level drug offense, for example, then it may be possible to have the evidence excluded from Court due to Fourth Amendment violations. Likewise, a simple assault charge may have resulted from acting in self-defense or a questionable eyewitness identification. The path you take to defending yourself will depend on the nature of the charges. As a former prosecutor, I am familiar with handling such situations. My office will give your case the attention it deserves, and we believe that everyone is entitled to the highest level of respect. Contact us online or by telephone today to speak with a Peoria misdemeanor lawyer. My office also represents clients in Bloomington, Decatur, Eureka, Galesburg, Morton, Normal, Pekin, Springfield, and Washington. We also serve the counties of Fulton, Knox, LaSalle, Marshall, Mason, McLean, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, and Woodford.